President of EAFF Kaloyan Nikolov took part in the Annual session of the General Assembly of Regional Center (category 2) for Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage in South- Eastern Europe under the auspices of UNESCO.

During the meeting, which was held on 5th December in Sofia, the representatives of the 13th countries parties of the Center had the opportunity to discuss the acceptance of the annual financial statement, the adoption of the activity report, the approval of the annual work plan for 2020, the approval of the budget for 2020, the election of members for the Executive Board, the admission of new members of the Center, the election of the chairman for the next General Assembly and the appointment of a date for its holding.

In the coming year, the Center will seek to involve all its Member States in the implementation of the planned activities, with the emphasis being on the development of an active network of experts and institutions in the field of intangible cultural heritage. The main objective is to strengthen the Centre's partnership with various key institutions and organizations - universities, non-governmental organizations and museums.

The Regional Center will continue to strengthen the capacity of its Member States to implement the 2003 Convention, giving priority to community involvement in the preservation of the intangible cultural heritage, the development of policies related to the intangible cultural heritage and the use of an international mechanism for support for further capacity development within the region.

Capacity-building activities will focus on conducting seminars at national level, supporting training networks, publishing an online newsletter and creating and disseminating scientific reports and journals in the field of intangible cultural heritage.

During the meeting, the photo exhibition "Dry stone - art and construction" was also presented.
The dry masonry element has been proposed as a multinational candidate by the countries of Cyprus, France, Switzerland, Greece, Spain, Italy, Croatia and Slovenia.